WSU Tri-Cities

Max E. Benitz Memorial Library

Library Fine Liability Schedule

Library materials may be renewed by calling the circulation desk at 509-372-7303. Comments or concerns regarding circulation, overdue notices, or fines should be referred to Circulation at the following addresses or numbers:

  • Circulation Desk: 509-372-7303
  • Library Fax: 372-7281
  • Plant Mail: H2-52 Attn: Circulation
  • E-Mail: lib-req@tricity.wsu.edu
  • U.S. Mail: WSU Tri-Cities Library
    2710 University Drive
    Richland, WA 99352
    Attn: Circulation

Reserve and other 2-hour material: $2.00/hr

30-day materials:$ .50 per day per item

1, 3 ,7 day materials: $2.00/day

Recalled materials:
1, 3, 7-day material:$2.50/day
Hourly material:$2.50/hr
30-day material:$1.00/day

Fines for items borrowed through Summit are higher and accrue at a faster rate - ask at the Circulation Counter.

Overdue Notices

Library materials become overdue if not returned by the due date. A courtesy reminder is then sent. You are responsbile for returning borrowed items on time, whether or not the reminder is received. Fines accrue for all hours the library is open, including holidays.

Maximum Fines:

The maximum fine for 2-hour materials is $10, and $7.50 for all other material. After the maximum overdue fine has acrued, the items is assumed lost. You will be billed for replacment of the material, a $10 service charge and the maximum fine. If the material is returned within 6 months of the maximum overdue date, the replacment cost will be credited, but the fine and service charge will still be valid.

2-Hour Material:

2-hour materials are fined at the same rate for all borrowers, regardless of special loan priveleges extended to graduate students and faculty. Please return these items directly to the Circulation Desk book return to avoid check-in delays.

Recalls

Any library user may recall 30-day materials, charged to another patron, 14 days after the date of check-out, regardless of the original due date of the item. Please return these items promptly to avoid the higher fine rates on recalls.

Renewals of Library Materials:

Renewal can be accomplished online using "View Your Record" in Griffin, by phone, in person at a Circulation Counter or by bringing the material to the counter. Items may not be renewed if requested by other patrons or maximum overdue. Media materials have limited renewals. Reserve items cannot be renewed.

Important Reminders:

You are responsible for materials charged to your ID card. Borrowers with outstanding library charges my be denied library privileges. WAC 504-40-060 (3) (c)

Books are billed at a minimum of $45.00 per book.

Pay library fines at the Student Accounts Cashier Window (East 254), or send them to WSU University Receivables Office in Pullman:
University Receivables Office
French Ad Bldg. Room 141
Washington State University
1 SE Stadium Way
Pullman, WA 99164-1027

Library Services, 2710 Crimson Way, Washington State University Tri-Cities, Richland, WA, 99354-1671
509-372-7430, Contact Us